Cording

I call the trim around a cushion or pillow cording.  It is also called piping or welt.  It is the stuff that trims upholstery and slipcovers to give a finished professional look.

The 2 other window seat cushions are corded both top and bottom.

When I make a cushion cover I custom make the cording although it may be bought at a fabric store in limited fabrics and colors.

10 yards of cotton cord

To start I purchase cord in 6/32″ thickness.  This will be covered in the fabric of the project or can be made to contrast, however contrasting welt must be sewn more carefully to give a nicely finished effect.

One manipulation of bias triangles made enough binding to cover cord for the entire top.

The fabric that encases the cord should be cut on the bias to ease the turning of corners and other non-straight situations (like scallops).  When I need miles and miles of piping for a project I follow these instructions to cut the bias tape.

The adjustable zipper presser foot should sit snug around the needle.

With the zipper foot on the sewing machine I stitch the bias binding onto the cord wrong sides together.

A 2-inch wide strip of bias tape wraps around the cotton cord.

The excess fabric will ultimately be caught up in the seams of the cushion cover.

I need about 5 yards of cording for the top of the cushion and another 5 yards for the bottom.

This is the bit that has been holding me up. Now I can actually get started on the cover itself.

Jo

Leave a comment