Updating Kitchen Cabinets

I was hoping by now we’d have a new septic system at the shore house and I could turn my attention to upgrading the kitchen.

This kitchen is dingy but sturdy.

Since the septic is slow in coming I decided to get on with the kitchen.  In its favor the kitchen has real wood cabinets, a nice duck egg blue countertop, and  a white ceramic tile backsplash with coordinated blue listello.

A roofer damaged a part of the kitchen ceiling that was intact when we bought the property.

Over the summer my son has put in some new subflooring and is starting to fix the ceiling.  Part of the ceiling was down when we bought the house and some of it was damaged when a roofer put his foot through it.

I purchased my hinges from Amazon since both Home Depot and Lowe’s were sold out.

Anyway, after getting inspired by Young House Love  I made a list of the items Sug and I would need to paint the cabinets: cleaner, primer, paint, brushes, pans, rollers, scrapers, screwdrivers, and drop cloth.  Following their lead I also purchased hidden hinges to update the look of the old wood cabinets.

The door pulls were dark and grungy.

We removed the cabinets pulls and painted them silver.

We decided to use the old hardware to save some money.  They are admittedly old fashioned looking but can be changed in the future if we find cost effective replacements.

I left the old hinges attached until new screw holes were drilled for the concealed hinges.

We started by applying hinges to one of the doors just to make sure they would work for us which they did.

The new hinges are applied inside the door and cabinet frame.

Since it worked well  I applied the remaining hinges to the  doors while Sug cleaned the drawer fronts and doors with a solution of TSP which made quick work of the old grease and dirt buildup.

Sug cleaned the door then gave them a light sand.

We removed the doors from the cabinet boxes and marked them according to placement with a small piece of tape.

We both took a hande at priming the drawer fronts and doors (front and back).

My original plan was to spray paint the cabinet doors but (following John and Sherry’s instructions) we opted to use small foam rollers.

We did finish the drawer fronts with 2 coats of primer and 3 coats of SW “Contented”.

I applied new hinges until I ran out.  I had ordered too few to finish. (I thought I ordered 16 pairs but instead had 16 total hinges.)

We’re hoping the lighter, brighter kitchen will be more pleasant.

Our plan is to go back soon and continue to work on this project which is time-consuming and tedious.

Jo

2 thoughts on “Updating Kitchen Cabinets

    • Thanks, Barbara. Painting is my go-to, feel-good, instant-update technique. People who know me say, “She paints everything.” That’s not exactly true but not far from it. Jo

      Like

Leave a comment